Houston Attorney For Hit and Run Cases
In The State of Texas, especially Houston and Harris County, a failure to stop and render aide (FSRA), failure to stop and give information (FSGI), or evading arrest with a motor vehicle, can easily result in a felony charge.
I’ve had two personal friends charged with felony evading arrest with a motor vehicle simply because a police officer, on foot, and once on horseback, hand signaled them to pull over. They did not see the hand signal and the next thing the knew they were surrounded by four to five police cars and forcefully yanked from their vehicles.
When a person is accused of not stopping to render aide after a car crash which involves injury, property damage, or loss of life, it’s a criminal felony charge (also known as leaving the scene of an accident).
Hit and Run/Leaving The Scene of an Accident Criminal cases will result in a felony or misdemeanor based on the severity of injury or property damage.
If You’ve Been Charged With Hit and Run, or Leaving The Scene of an Accident, Houston Criminal Defense Specialist Jack B. Carroll May Be Able To Help.
Call Houston Hit and Run Defense Attorney Jack B. Carroll For a Free Legal Consultation.
Criminal Charges & Penalties for a Hit and Run in Texas
Felony Charges Hit and Run Charges
A 3rd Degree Felony is applied if a person is alleged to be guilty of leaving the scene of an accident in which death, or serious personal injury is a factor. In the State of Texas, a 3rd degree felony carries a sentence of 2-10 years with the Texas Department of Corrections.
If their is a minor injury involved, the most lenient punishment is a 3rd Degree Felony with up to 1 year of county jail time or up to 5 years state jail with a potential fine of up to five thousand dollars.
Misdemeanor Hit and Run Charges
A hit and run case in which damages were caused to a vehicle with occupants carries a Class C misdemeanor with fines of up to $500.
If property damaged estimates are above 200.00, Class B misdemeanor charges apply, along with up to six months county jail time.
Penalties for a Hit and Run Conviction in Texas
You Don’t Have To Go To Jail
You can likely get probation or community supervision, rather than jail time, if you’ve been found guilty so long as you’ve hired a competent criminal defense lawyer, it’s a first offense, no one was killed, and you don’t have a previous felony conviction.
The court may also seek to suspend your drivers license.
The case for a hit and run prosecution often requires physical evidence and eyewitness testimony. These additional elements of the case will give Houston Criminal Attorney Jack B. Carroll multiple fronts to fight on your behalf. With respect to our 4th Amendment rights as Americans, we may be able to have evidence suppressed if it was collected illegally, as well as challenge any eyewitness accounts as a tenet of your defense.
Call Jack B. Carroll, one of the most experienced criminal lawyers in Houston, at 713-228-4607 if you’ve been charged with a misdemeanor, or felony, hit and run or similar crime related to leaving the scene of an accident.